Skip to main content

Tallgrass Creek Residents Raise More Than $26,000 to Help Their Student Scholars

June 17, 2015

OVERLAND PARK, KS (June 17, 2015) – Tallgrass Creek retirement community has  celebrated the eight-member Class of 2015 Student Scholars at a recent Award Ceremony. The student workers earned four-year collegiate scholarships in the amount of $26,500 from money raised by residents.

In the previous seven years, the Tallgrass Creek Scholars Program has raised nearly $160,000, assisting 30 students to advance their collegiate careers.

This year's student scholarship recipients are:

Phillip Baxter – University of Kansas, Business & Pre-Law

Olivia Degner – University of Arkansas, Computer Science

Wesley Easum – University of Kansas, Mechanical Engineering

Corey Hettinger – Johnson County Community College, Electrical Engineering

Emma Lucas – University of Tulsa, Psychology

DeAndre Morgan – University of Kansas, Athletic Training

Graham Smith – Drake University, Music

Alex Vorhies – Drake University, Broadcast Journalism & Computer Science

To be eligible for a scholarship, the students employed in the Dining Services Department must work a minimum of 500 hours prior to graduating high school, build positive relationships with residents and maintain a strong work record while employed at Tallgrass Creek.