Skip to main content

Charlestown Residents Help Their Student Employees Attend College

May 16, 2017

CATONSVILLE, MD (May 17, 2017) – Twenty three student employees were honored tonight by Charlestown Retirement Community residents who raised $174,600 for this year's Scholarship Program to help them attend college.


To be eligible for a scholarship, the students employed in the Dining Services Department must work a minimum of 1,000 hours during the two years prior to receiving the scholarship, build positive relationships with residents and maintain a strong work record while employed at Charlestown. Each student will receive $1,000 a semester for a total of eight semesters.


Since its inception in 1986 the Charlestown Scholars Program has raised more than $2.5 million dollars assisting over 1,500 students to advance their collegiate careers.


The scholars (with their chosen colleges noted) who received scholarships were:


Abigail Antoine, Susquehanna University

Jamie Atkins, Towson University

Ca'Ron Bell, Bowie State University

Kayla Berry, Alabama State University

Zevroniqa Brogden, Bowie State University

Esther Eze, Delaware State University

Jasmine Franklin, University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Glen Griffin, Community College of Baltimore County

Courtney Hancock, Elizabeth City State University

Danae Hebron, Delaware State University

Bryant Henly, University of Baltimore

Trashawnna Hollingsworth, Hampton University of Virginia

Tae'la Jones, Coppin State

Olivia Judson, York College of PA

Chadea Laws, Community College of Baltimore County

Shelby Murphy, Community College of Baltimore County

Justin Naylor, Morgan State University

Emma Olszewski, Mount St. Mary's University

Kanyia Smith, Coppin State

Briahnna Talbott, Community College of Baltimore County

Malik Townsend, University of Baltimore

Kieran Van Sant, Drexel University

Jordin Watkins, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Heath Science