Skip to main content

Charlestown is Co-Champion of 2015 Regional Employee Softball Tournament

August 17, 2015

CATONSVILLE, MD (August 17, 2015) -- On Saturday, August 15, Charlestown Retirement Community hosted the annual Erickson Employee Softball Tournament. Teams from Charlestown, Riderwood (Silver Spring) and Oak Crest (Parkville) retirement communities participated in the tournament, with scores of cheering residents, employees and family members in attendance on a summer day.

In the Round Robin portion (to determine the seeding for the tournament) Charlestown defeated Oak Crest 15 - 14 by scoring 9 runs in the final inning to win the game. Oak Crest then defeated Riderwood 12 - 11.  In the final Round Robin game, Riderwood defeated Charlestown 16 - 6 to earn a bye in the first round of the tournament.

In the elimination part of the tournament Charlestown defeated Oak Crest 11 - 7.  Riderwood defeated Charlestown 12 - 7. Charlestown defeated Oak Crest 19 - 6 to eliminate Oak Crest from the tournament.  In the final game of the tournament, Charlestown defeated Riderwood 11 -  5 giving each team one loss in the tournament portion, thus making Charlestown and Riderwood Co-Champions.

The team from Charlestown displayed great teamwork and endurance as it played a total of 6 games (winning 4 and losing 2) in hot temperatures. Several team members played with injuries and those who were not in the lineup provided support by coaching 1st and  3rd base and by cheering on their teammates.

The Charlestown team consisted of the following employees:  Bryant Marshall, Christopher Rudolf, Don Grove, Christian Evans, Vinson Bankoski, Jesse Morgan, Precious Hardcastle, David Bullet Jr., Ryan Truitt, Sarah Sullivan, Kosta Viennas, Anthony Kuzawinski, Matt Rosewag, Erica Cartwright, Louis McCabe, Nathan Prehn, Hitesh Patel, Erica Suter, Gregory Marin, Kevin Crawford, Nicole Swanke, and Quintin "Q" Booker.