Skip to main content

Charlestown Announces Scholars Class of 2012

June 22, 2012

Thirty-three students earn collegiate scholarship from donations raised by residents, community partners

CATONSVILLE, MD---Charlestown retirement community announced its Scholars Class of 2012 during the 24th Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony held on June 14th at the Erickson Conference Center.
Thirty-three students currently attending college and high school and employed by the Dining Services Department of the Erickson Living retirement community earned scholarships for their collegiate careers.  The value of these awards is $1,200 per year for a four-year total of $4,800 paid directly to the accredited higher education program.
To this point, the community has raised more than $120,000 during the 2012 scholars campaign, announced Jim Antonakos, Director of Philanthropy at Charlestown.
Michelle Chenoweth is a resident of Charlestown who serves on the Scholarship Committee.  The retired school teacher knows firsthand the value of education.
"As a teacher, I saw how earning a degree is a life-changing experience.  That is why it so important to be involved in providing these students with additional resources to obtain a college education," described Mrs. Chenoweth.  "There is also a real bond between the students and residents as they remind many of us of our grandchildren.  We are interested in their lives, and they really care for us."
Additionally, D'Vonte Nixon received the Martha Yeager Endowed Scholarship.  Kara Daniels and Catherine Ogden were named recipients of the Ruth Harden Inglis Scholarship Award for teaching careers.  These endowed scholarships are worth $750 annually.
Charlestown employs over two hundred local students for its six distinct dining areas.  To qualify for a scholarship, a student must work 1000 hours and be in good academic standing.
For students, there is much more responsibility than just coming to work.  Prior to serving meals, student employees participate in a daily pre-shift meeting, where managers review the menu and the specific focus of the evening.  They are expected to provide excellent customer service to residents; when their shift is finished, students can also eat for free.
Charlestown Student Scholar Class of 2012: Chukwudi Amaefule, Aqsa Ashiq, Courtney Bass, Kelley Boyd, Taijon Brown, Jasmine Bumbray, Jeremy Cookus, Maria Cox, Kara Daniels, Jayde Duncan, Rikkiya Duncan, Jordan Freeman, Taja Harper, Jeremiah Harrell, Morgan Harris, Kenneth Harrod, Kevin Hartka, Timothy Jacobs, Kristen Locus, Justin Matthews, Shaquille McCray, Taylor McIntosh, Barnesha McNeal, D'Vonte Nixon, Catherine Ogden, Marnier O'Neal, Danielle Preidt, Felix Sandrino, Montrey Shepard, Brianna Taylor, Athena Tolbert, Bria Williams, Carlene Young
About Charlestown: Charlestown, managed and developed by Erickson Living, is a retirement community that provides worry-free living for America's seniors-the country's fastest growing population segment.  Erickson Living's financial value and predictable monthly service fees provide residents across the country financial peace of mind.  Comprehensive health and wellness services, integrated into our continuum of care, lead to demonstrated resident benefits.  A robust complement of resident programs and facilities promote an engaged, fulfilling lifestyle that is reflected in resident satisfaction levels that exceed the industry average.  For more information, please visit